Posted by: drewandbri | November 18, 2011

The Proposal

Well, I’ll start by saying that Andrew and I have been talking about our future together and marriage for awhile. One day in July we had an unexpected conversation about exactly when we would get married, and agreed that next summer looked like a pretty darn good time to get hitched. 

So, I knew we would be getting engaged sometime before the end of the year, but really had no idea when. His sister-in-law would tell me at the beginning of every month, “I think it’s going to happen this month. I just have a feeling!” …well, she was bound to be right eventually, and this month she was. 😉 Ironically, we went to dinner and a movie together the night before Andrew proposed – I’m impressed she was able to keep it a secret, as she’s been almost as excited as Andrew and I are!

Anyway, I woke up at 6:29AM on Thursday morning to the sound of someone coming into my room. Obviously I wasn’t expecting company at such an early hour, one minute before my alarm was set to go off. Andrew came in, and told me that since we both didn’t have to work that day, that I could sleep in for a little bit. I was beyond confused, and I know he enjoyed seeing me try to work through what he was saying while I was still half-asleep. Finally he explained that he had called my boss and taken the day off for me, and that he’d taken the day off as well, so that we could spend the day together. I couldn’t even sleep in after that, because I was still worried that somehow he had confused things and they would be expecting me at work still. 😉

We slept in, made a big breakfast and caught up on some tv. Then, after getting ready, we headed to Downtown Disney to walk around and eat lunch at a fun restaurant called “The T-rex Cafe.” It’s a dinosaur themed restaurant (Andrew warned you that I really like dinosaurs ;)), and we had a lot of fun!

Next, we made the two and a half hour drive to Crystal River, a cute little place we had taken a mini vacation to about 6 months ago. When we were there the first time we found a tiny, private beach with a long fishing pier, where we had watched a gorgeous sunset. After hanging out on one side of the beach for awhile, I knew something was up. Andrew was sneakily (but not so sneakily) texting, and seemed to barely hear a word I was saying.

After awhile he suggested going over to the pier to set up some chairs and hang out. Once we got there we stood overlooking the water, and he told me he had a surprise for me. He took out a photo book he had had made for me, that included pictures of our last two years together, and some very sweet song lyrics and words. At the end, it told me to count to ten and turn around, and he was on one knee! He asked me to marry him, and I said YES!

Right after he proposed!!

After that, we made the long drive back to Longwood to tell my family in person. There was no way I could tell anyone before telling my parents, but it was so hard not calling anyone on the 3 hour ride home, so I ended up calling my best friend, (& MOH!) Kristina, to tell her the news! Andrew must have answered dozens of questions from me about who knew, how he asked my dad, etc. on the way home. He also told me that he had someone taking a video and pictures of the proposal as well! Once we get those, I’ll be sure to add some of those pictures. Well, as we walked into my parents house, there was a surprise party with my family and all of our close friends!! I was so surprised!! It meant so much to me to be able to have all of them in one place celebrating with us. 🙂

It was a perfect day! All of the teachers I work with kept telling me that I had found a “good one,” and that I better keep him…Andrew did an amazing job with the proposal, but one of my favorite things about him is that he’s sweet, romantic and thoughtful all of the time. I’m grateful for so many little things he does for me, like bringing me a Pillow Pet and medicine when I’m sick, or sending me a funny picture he’ll think I like, or buying my little brother a birthday gift. 

Andrew Beverly, I can’t wait to marry you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

